Roger Léron Award

The Roger Léron Award celebrates outstanding contributions to the development of sustainable energy at the EU, regional and local levels. The aim is to acknowledge persistency, positive attitude, a proactive approach and successful implementation of various projects within a very wide field of sustainable energy on a local and regional level in Europe. Indeed, we believe that the regional and local levels of governance play a central role in energy and climate issues, through their competence in many policy areas (energy, transport, housing…), their proximity to citizens, their thorough knowledge of the territory, and their greater flexibility than national governments. Regional and local players’ contributions are notably helping reduce Europe’s dependence on foreign energy, ensure Europe’s security of energy supply and prevent further impact on our climate. The Award is named in memory of Roger Léron, a pioneer of regional energy development in Europe and one of FEDARENE’s founders who also served as its President for over a decade (1995-2007). Deeply rooted in local and regional development, he had a far-reaching vision for greater European sustainability. Founded in 2015, 2019 will already be the 5th edition of the Award.


Previous editions

4th edition

The 4th edition of the Roger Léron Award was concluded on the 10th October 2018 with the Ceremony at the Palais des Académies in Brussels and the announcement of Andy Bull as winner.

The Ceremony also acknowledged Gérard Savatier’s and José Rámon Perán’s contributions to sustainable energy, who were tied at the second place. Read the full report on the 4th edition here.

3rd edition

The Ceremony of the 3rd edition of the Roger Léron Award took place at the BIP, Brussels, on 5th December 2017. Three nominees were honoured: Felicia Ienculescu-Popovici, Wilfried Roos, and the winner, Ljubomir Majdandzic.

Ljubomir Majdandzic was one of the first to promote sustainable energy in Croatia. He promoted the concept of Croatia’s 100% renewable energy economy with the support of the Energy Protection and Efficiency Fund (EPEEF). With a good management of these funds throughout the years, he carried out more than 20 projects regarding the use of better energy in Croatia. Wilfried Roos, Mayor of Saerbeck (Germany), arrived at the second place in the ranking of nominees. Since 2008, he has been leading the energy transition of his city by investing in renewables. The third finalist, Felicia Ienculescu-Popovici, is the founder and director of the Romanian NGO Greenitiative. She has dedicated herself to raising awareness about renewable and sustainable energy amongst the Romanian public.


2nd edition

The FEDARENE handed over the trophy of the second edition of its Roger Léron Award on the evening of 15th June 2016 at the magnificent Palace of the Academies in Brussels. The jury had to make a tough call, but in the end, the selected winner was Wolfgang Jilek (Austria). After several years of being one of the Managers of the Styrian Energy Agency, M. Jilek became Energy Commissioner of Styria until he retired last summer. He updated the Styrian Energy Strategy, targeting efficiency, RES, district heating and cogeneration, founding rural cooperatives to operate heat plants. Even after retirement, M. Jilek kept working for an association for the “Training of Energy Consultants”, of which he was elected chairperson and asked to stay. He is also still active in the Concerted Action on the Energy Performance of Buildings. To know more about the other finalists, click here.

1st edition

The 1st edition of the Roger Léron Award was also the 25th anniversary of FEDARENE. To celebrate those two important events, FEDARENE organised the Ceremony and a celebratory cocktail dinner at the Palais des Académies on the 16th June 2016. The Jury of the Prize shortlisted 4 finalists: Fred Nordstrom – Former director of the Energy Agency of Norrbotten (Sweden), Herbert Stava – President of Energiepark Bruck/Leitha (Austria), The Tipperary Energy Agency (Ireland) and Andrei Chiliman – Mayor of Bucharest District 1 (Romania). The selected winner was Herbert Stava. Starting in 1985 as city councillor for environment in his hometown, Herbert Stava has been continuously engaged in energy efficiency, renewable energy, and sustainability for 30 years now. He founded Energiepark Bruck/Leitha, an innovation and development centre (NGO), to transition his hometown towards a 100% renewable energy city and in a second step to develop the whole region towards 100% energy independent. Click here to find out more about the ceremony and the other finalists, and here to see the pictures of the evening.