Seamus Hoyne elected new Secretary General of FEDARENE

On the 11th September 2018, during the 2018 FEDARENE General Assembly, the Board of Directors elected Seamus Hoyne as their new Secretary General.

Seamus Hoyne elected new Secretary General of FEDARENE

From 1998 to 2012 Seamus Hoyne was the Managing Director of the Tipperary Energy Agency (TEA, IE) and made the organisation one of the leading Energy Agencies in Ireland and Europe. He is the current Chair of the Board of Directors of the TEA. Since February 2017, he also leads the Development Unit of the Limerick Institute of Technology (IE). He is a Mechanical Engineer with Master of Engineering in Renewable Energy and Masters of Science Energy Management. 

New Secretary General Seamus Hoyne will be supported in his work by Patrick Biard who will take on the role of Deputy Secretary General. Head of European and International Affairs at Auvergne Rhône-Alpes Energie Environnement (AURA-EE, FR), Mr Biard will replace Christian Labie (AURA-EE) in his position.

Mr Hoyne will succeed Michael Geissler, Director of the Berlin Energy Agency (DE), who fulfilled the function of Secretary General since the year 2000. Our President Julije Domac, all members and the FEDARENE team in Brussels would like to warmly thank Michael Geissler for the work accomplished over the years. Notably, Michael Geissler recently initiated a series of Lunch Debates between FEDARENE Board members and EU Decision-makers. The First “LunchEU” took place in March 2018.